Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

About the Author

Fredrik Backman Image credit Linnea Jonasson-Bern
Image credit Linnea Jonasson-Bern

About the Author

Fredrik Backman (b. 1981), made his literary debut in Sweden in 2012 with the global sensation A Man Called Ove, published by Atria Books in 2014. Wickedly funny, touching and wise, Fredrik Backman’s novels are odysseys of the ordinary man and woman, and moving tales of everyday courage. To date Fredrik Backman has written five highly acclaimed novels – A Man Called Ove, My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She’s Sorry, Britt-Marie Was Here, Beartown, and Us Against You (June 2018), two heartfelt novellas about life and love – And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer and The Deal of a Lifetime, and one non-fiction book about parenthood, scheduled to be released in the United States in 2019.

His books have sold more than 9 million copies in 44 languages and the film adaptation of A Man Called Ove was nominated for two Academy Awards. He lives in Stockholm, Sweden, with his wife and two children. For more about Fredrik, or to see his deep obsession with sports unfold in real time, visit him on Twitter @Backmanland or on Instagram @Backmansk.

*Simon and Schuster

Learn more about Fredrick Backman: